Victimology
Share |

 

        

Mission Statement: The Victimology Section membership is committed to raising the awareness of the field of Victimology. The mission of the Section is to bring together academy members with a particular interest in victimology in order to:

• Facilitate and encourage research and theory development related to victimology;
• Encourage appropriate and effective teaching techniques and practices for victimology-related courses;
• Encourage organization of and participation in conference sessions related to victimology; and
• Serve as a resource network for and encourage interaction among academic, research, practitioner and policy-making sectors to further the knowledge in victimology.

Additional Information:
• Members’ interests include, but are not limited to; criminal victimization, crime prevention, interpersonal violence, child maltreatment, domestic and sexual violence, victim trauma, victim rights and services for victims.
• Initiatives include a syllabus bank, teaching tools file, New Scholar award, Facebook page - http://www.facebook.com/acjsvictimology - and a collaborative pre-annual conference event.

Membership: Any current member of ACJS is welcome as a new member of the Victimology Section. Section dues are $20 per year; $10 per year for Student members. To join the section, current ACJS members should send a request to receive an invoice, which you can pay by check or credit card to the National Office at manager@acjs.org; Non-members of ACJS first join ACJS via the Membership page - https://www.acjs.org/page/MembershipInfo and add the Victimology as a Section option before you check-out and pay.

Executive Board:

Chair
Christina Policastro, Ph.D.
University of Tennessee Chattanooga
Email: christina-policastro@utc.edu
Term Ends: 2021

Vice-Chair
Shannon Fowler, Ph.D.
University of Houston Downtown
Email: fowlers@uhd.edu
Term Ends: 2020

Secretary/Treasurer
Chad Posick, Ph.D.
Georgia Southern University
Email: cposick@georgiasouthern.edu
Term ending: 2020

Past Chair
Tammy S. Garland, Ph.D.
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Email: tammy-garland@utc.edu

Executive Counselors:
Andia Azimi
Sam Houston State University
Email: axa205@shsu.edu
Term ends: 2021

Sadie Mummert
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Email: sadie.mummert@iup.edu
Term ends: 2020

Patrick Brady
University of West Georgia
Email: pbrady@westga.edu
Term ends: 2021

Jonathan Grubb
Georgia Southern University
Email: JGrubb@georgiasouthern.edu
Term ends: 2020