Restorative and Community Justice
Share |


Mission Statement: The mission of the Section on Restorative and Community Justice is to provide a professional association for academics, educators, justice agency practitioners, victim advocates, victim services interested in developing restorative and community justice theory; conduct policy relevant research on restorative and community justice practices; and educate individuals, organizations, institutions, and governmental entities about restorative and community justice principles and practices.

Membership: Any current member of ACJS is welcomed as a new member! Also, we actively seek student members who are interested in restorative and criminal justice at the undergraduate or graduate level. If you know of a student who would benefit from meeting and networking with scholars in our field, please encourage them to become a member. Student participation is vital to our growth and the continued research in the field!

Section dues are only $20 for regular members and free for students. We also have an option for regular members to contribute $5 to a student fund.

To join the section, current ACJS members should send a request to the National Office at to receive an invoice, which you can pay by check or credit card; Non-members of ACJS first join ACJS via the Membership page - and add Restorative and Community Justice Section as an option before you check-out and pay.

Be sure to routinely update your member profile, particularly if you change your email address or institution, to ensure you receive current news and information from the Section!

Member Benefits: Section members are provided an opportunity to exchange ideas, questions, and helpful strategies for practical application, research, and teaching tips associated with restorative and criminal justice topics.

As a member you may attend the annual social gathering and general business meeting held at the ACJS Annual Meeting. Upcoming meetings will be held:

April 13 - 17, 2021  Orlando, FL
March 15 - 19, 2022  Las Vegas, NV
March 14 - 18, 2023  National Harbor, MD                                                       
March 19 - 23, 2024 Chicago, IL

We have an annual newsletter, Dialogue, in which members can submit materials for publication, including short articles, notices of events, or member updates. It is an informative benefit of membership!

2017  Vol 7, No. 1 Dialogue
2016  Vol 6, No. 1 Dialogue
2015  Vol 5, No. 1 Dialogue
2014  Vol 4, No. 1 Dialogue
2013  Vol 3, No. 1 Dialogue

View or download Section Constitution and Bylaws here.


Executive Board:

Chair – Rachel H. Cunliffe,
Term of office ends: 2021

Vice Chair – Tim Holler,
Term of office ends: 2021 (Vice Chair becomes Chair of the Section in 2021)


Immediate Past Chair – Nick Jones,

SecretaryLana McDowell,
Term of office ends: 2020


Executive Counselor – Natasha N. Johnson,
Term of office ends: 2021


Executive Counselor – J. Renee Trombley,
Term of office ends: 2021

Executive Counselor – Linda Keena,
Term of office ends: 2020


Outstanding Student Paper Award 2019 – 
Nicole Kinbarovsky – Texas State University
Paper: "Exploring the Support Networks of Those Caring for Loved Ones on Texas Death Row"


To view a video presentation of Nicole's award winner paper, please click here.

National Association of Community and Restorative Justice
Those interested in the work of the Restorative and Community Justice section might want to visit the National Association of Community and Restorative Justice (NACRJ) website. NACRJ employs principles of social and restorative justice seeking transformation in the ways justice questions are addressed. It promotes effective forms of justice that are equitable, sustainable and socially constructive. It serves as the parent organization for the biannual National Conference on Restorative Justice and provides members with information resources applicable to restorative and community justice theory and practice.

Photo Gallery:  
Photos from the 2014 Section Meeting in Orlando, FL

Incoming Chair Joanne Katz - Outgoing Chair Morris Jenkins

Joanne Katz - Staggered Term Selection for Advisory Council Members

Linda Keena, Dialogue Editor - Selected for First Staggered Advisory Council Term

ACJS Meeting - Restorative and Community Justice Section