Community College
Share |
Mission Statement: The purpose and objectives of the Community College Section are to bring together all divisions of the criminal justice discipline to serve the interests of our students and their futures; to promote the role of the community colleges and others of similar interest in teaching; to develop a criminal justice professional common body of knowledge through research and theory development; to serve as a resource network for interaction between academic, research, practitioner, and policy-making sectors; to develop and assist in organizing the annual conference sessions on community college issues; and to encourage the representation of the Section throughout the ACJS organization.

Section News: The Community College Section is seeking individuals interested in service to the Section. Service may take many forms including, but not limited to, serving as an officer of the Section, serving on the various Section committees (Program, Constitution and Bylaws, Membership, Awards, Communications, Nominations and Elections), or facilitating the presentation of papers and roundtable discussions at the annual conference. We gladly welcome any member of the Academy who shares our interests and goals.

Member Benefits: To join the Community College Section, current ACJS members should contact, non-members of ACJS can join ACJS and the section online.  See the Membership page of the ACJS website.

Section Awards: The Awards Committee shall consider awards as appropriate, subject to approval by the Section’s Executive Board and the Executive Board of the ACJS. Section members who feel an award should be presented to a deserving individual should contact the Chair of the Section for additional information.

Additional Information: The Community College Section’s logo was adopted in the early 2000’s:

Executive Board: Current members of the Executive Board are as follows:

Chair – Tim Davis, Madisonville Community College (Madisonville, KY);; 270.824.8613
Term of office ends:  March 2019 (Chair becomes Immediate Past Chair in 2019)

Vice Chair – Tretha Harris, Strayer University,, 214.429.3810
Term of office ends: March 2019 (Vice Chair becomes Chair of the Section in 2019) 

Secretary/Treasurer – Chris Utecht, College of Lake County (Grayslake, IL);; 847.543.2944
Term of office ends: March 2020

 Immediate Past Chair – Matt McCarthy, Northeast Community College (Norfolk, NE);; 402.844.7345
Term of office ends:  March 2019

Northeast Region Executive Counselor – Jason Paynich, Quincy College (Quincy, MA);; 617.984.1639 
Term of office ends: March 2021

Midwestern Region Executive Counselor – Jessica Nobel, Lewis & Clark Community College;; 573.645.0212
Term of office ends: March 2021

Southern Region Executive Counselor – Ursula Ann Becker;; 478.363.0282
Term of office ends:  March 2019

Western Region Executive Counselor – Holly Dershem-Bruce, Dawson Community College (Glendive, MT);; 406.377.9432
Term of office ends: March 2021

Southwest Region Executive Counselor – James Blair, South Texas College (McAllen, TX);; 956.872.6728
Term of office ends: March 2019

History: The Community College section was formally recognized by the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences in March 1995 and was one of the earliest sections to be established with ACJS. Since then the Section has been instrumental in helping build the skills of many college instructors over the years and continues to assist members in becoming better at their trade-instruction.