Victimology
Share |

Mission Statement: The Victimology Section membership is committed to raising the awareness of the field of Victimology.  The mission of the Section is to bring together academy members with a particular interest in victimology in order to:

 

  • facilitate and encourage research and theory development related to victimology;
  • encourage appropriate and effective teaching techniques and practices for victimology-related courses;
  • encourage organization of and participation in conference sessions related to victimology; and
  • serve as a resource network for and encourage interaction among academic, research, practitioner and policy-making sectors to further the knowledge in victimology.


Additional Information:

 

  • Members’ interests include, but are not limited to; criminal victimization, crime prevention, interpersonal violence, child maltreatment, domestic and sexual violence, victim trauma, victim rights and services for victims.
  • Initiatives include a syllabus bank, teaching tools file, New Scholar award, Facebook page - http://www.facebook.com/acjsvictimology - and a collaborative pre-annual conference event.


Executive Board:

  • Debra Stanley (Chairperson) – dstanley@ubalt.edu
  • Leila Dutton (Vice Chairperson) – ldutton@newhaven.edu
  • Stephanie Frogge (Secretary/Treasurer) – frogge@mail.utexas.edu
  • Cortney Franklin (Counselor) – cfranklin@shsu.edu
  • Jane Palmer (Counselor) – jane.palmer@american.edu
  • Heather Pfeifer (Counselor)  – hpfeifer@ubalt.edu
  • Elizabeth Quinn (Counselor)  –  equinn@uncfsu.edu
  • Duane Ruth-Heffelbower (Publications Officer) – duanerh@fresno.edu